Beneath a Rainbow Mustang

Time is funny, and perception funnier still. I realized this as I stood in front of my amazing staff at our last get together, a lunchtime gathering in the second to last week of the year. I made it a point to project the image of a blue Mustang, the SDA mascot, galloping across a rainbow flag. It was the image I’d projected behind me in my opening staff meeting on my first day at San Dieguito, a touchstone for a culture that is inclusive, caring, and filled with creativity.

rainbow

We’d muscled through a few directions for commencement, a review of check out procedures, and the results of the Dorkathalon, and reached a point I knew was inevitable: my time to say goodbye to a school I love.

…and I kept it short.

I had to. If I hadn’t, I know I would have teared up.

So I looked up at the crowd, and found that it felt as if I’d been friends with them for a long, long time. The faces I saw looking back at me were those of people with whom I’d shared coffee, traded places, and done so many things. These were amazing educators who I’d seen work with kids in ways that were creative, caring, and inspiring. Person by person, the smiles I saw, familiar and supportive, were those of kindred spirits with whom I have had the pleasure to strive alongside in this grand adventure that is education.

…and…

With that rainbow Mustang behind me, I had a flash of a feeling of the emotion I’d felt on my first day in front of my new school. And it felt like it had been a week since I had stood there for the first time.

That feeling lasted just a moment, but in that moment I remembered the nervousness I’d experienced, the hope that I could connect, the excitement to be starting something new.

And I thought…

I had connected.

I’m still excited.

The staff clapped and smiled. Some kind souls got me a pirate cake. It was a moment of profound emotion, leaving something to start something new.

I’ve tried to describe a bit of the magic of my experiences at San Dieguito in the posts on this modest blog, and know I’ve only captured a sliver of what it’s really like. I know this because at that moment, standing before my friends, remembering the feeling of newness, waves of those memories washed over me and time stood still.

Leave a Reply

