“Inspiration” for the #SDUHSDchat October 13, 2015, 8:00-8:30PM

UntitledI’m excited to be moderating my district’s Twitter chat next week. I’ve had co-hosting duties with some amazing educators from the San Dieguito Union High School District for more than a year now, and #SDUHSDchat is an event I look forward to.

With wit and occasional wisdom, educators from across my district (as well as a few others who know it’s a safe place to make a point, learn a bit, or crack wise) gather to share ideas and inspiration, and to know that we’re not alone in our classrooms or offices; we’re part of a dynamic community whose purpose is to educate kids.

With an eye toward highlighting those connections, my topic on the 13th is “Inspiration! Where do you draw online  inspiration (and information)?

I’ve got four questions for the half hour chat, and if you’re reading this I’d encourage you to take a look and see if you’d be willing to join the conversation. The questions:

  • Q1 You’re here on Twitter right now. Who are two educators you follow and why?
  • Q2 What is the most valuable content you find online? Where do you regularly find it?
  • Q3 Is there a blogger or a particular post that you would recommend to a colleague? What? Why?
  • Q4 How often are you interactive on social media? Is it as valuable to “lurk” or is it important to engage?”

It’s not cheating to start ahead of time. Writing out answers and saving them (with the hashtag SDUHSDchat) is totally okay! I love it when I can get a head start, knowing that my main answers are set and I can put more energy into the responses I can offer to what other folks have to say.

The risk is low; the reward is high.

I’m not sure what will happen on the 13th. Part of the fun of a Twitter chat is the unexpected. But I do hope that when it’s all said and done, we’ll all walk away with the names of a few folks to seek out online, a blog to follow, a couple of Twitter handles that might provide some inspiration. Heck, I’m optimistic that we might even leave inspired to add our own voices to the greater conversation.

See you on Tuesday at eight o’clock!

 

The next #SDUHSDchat takes place on October 13, 2015 from 8:00-8:30 PM. Come on by and sit a spell. 

Leave a Reply

