Welcome to the Fray

It’s the season of new assistant principals. Many of these APs are straight from the classroom and eager to try on the new role of site administrator. This week I was prompted to come up with someone I’d invite to join the #YourEdustory blogging challenge, and without hesitation a freshly minted AP popped to mind. I won’t call that person out here by name; I’m a gentleman and would never put someone on the spot publicly, but imagine the name of a new assistant principal you might know at the top of this letter…

Dear AP,

This is going to be fun.

You’ve been in the classroom for more than a few years, and you know how important it is to connect with kids, communicate with parents, and collaborate with colleagues. This year, in your new role as assistant principal, all that is about to change. …and be just as important.

What I mean is that in your new position all those relationships that have been so vital to your success as a teacher will be just as important, but they’ll feel different. As an assistant principal the subject of your interactions will broaden and you’ll find yourself facing questions (and finding answers) on topics as diverse as misbehavior in class, Common Core State Standards, and how to free a songbird trapped in a classroom.

It will be a blur, a beautiful blur, by October, and while I have no doubt about you succeeding, I have a challenge for you that I think might make your first year as an AP even richer. Feel free to say “no,” but please consider saying “yes…”

#YourEdustory is an idea hatched from the Kierkegaard quotation: “Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.” It takes as a premise the belief that we serve our schools and school communities well when we tell our own story.

I’m all in. I love celebrating the great things happening at Diegueño, and I’ve found in the weeks since I started blogging with the #YourEdustory bunch that something else has happened: I slowed down. I started reflecting more. I read other educators’ posts, and felt increasingly connected. I found people I wanted to follow on Twitter and whose thoughtful responses to the weekly prompts inspired me to think about how I can improve my own practice and school. And it’s been fun.

There’s no pressure to this; not everyone posts every week, and that’s totally okay. But, with enough of us thinking about these topics (and offering our own prompts in a deliciously EdCampish shared Google Doc), there is always something to learn. And the truth is, I’d like to learn from you. I value your perspective and the fresh eyes you bring to administration. I’d love to read what you have to say about the weekly #YourEdustory topics, and hear the school story you have to tell.

You know me well enough to know that I’m more likely to suggest than demand, and in this case it isn’t even a suggestion; it’s an invitation. I invite you to roll up your sleeves, have a second cup of coffee, take a stroll around campus, and then…

Add your voice to the conversation. Laugh, reflect, engage. Tell your story.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to the Fray

  1. Bjorn, one of the highlights from the #youredustory challenge for me has been connecting with you and Jo-Ann. I always found your posts inspiring and insightful and this post is a perfect package of both. Thank you for enriching my learning!

Leave a Reply

