Why?

Every morning I put on a tie, brew a pot of coffee, and do my best to say “good morning” to almost a thousand twelve to fourteen year olds. I try to help these tweens and teens navigate the emotional maelstrom that is middle school; help teachers execute a plan to inspire these same kids to balance equations, develop thoughtful topic sentences, and learn the intricacies of the Incan empire; and help parents understand that even as their youngsters are acting differently, stretching their independence, and stumbling around like baby giraffes, all will eventually be well. It’s a job of surprises, unexpected chaos, bruised emotions, and disappearing time. And I love it.

Why?

I love it because I feel that on the days I’m at my best, I make a difference.

I love it because I get to work with like minded professionals who are as dedicated to helping students learn as I am. Their energy, insight, and passion for teaching and learning inspire me.

I love it because I’m part of a school family that cares, about our school, about our mission to educate youth, and about each other.

My mission statement, which has remained consistent for a long time reads: “I believe that I can make a difference. By working hard, treating others with respect, and acknowledging that all can learn and improve, I believe that I can help create a place where students, teachers, parents, and others in the school community can succeed, and this success is no less than a better life.”

Why do I do what I do? Because I believe it matters.

One thought on “Why?

  1. Thank you for sharing this post and especially your mission statement. Your school is lucky to have an administrator as thoughtful and caring as you.

Leave a Reply

