Conspirator

When my five year old son
who was not cooperating
in the cleaning of his room
put my wife’s black leather gloves
on his feet
my first thought
(they look like gorilla feet
and he is a monkey
almost, at five, an ape)
was not parental.
Take those off,
I said
in my stern dad voice
the timbre a man with a pipe
and slippers
and a newspaper
might display
in a movie from the Eisenhower years.
My son
who at five,
a very simian five,
does not fear me
as he fears his mother
sensibly
looked at me and said:
But they look like gorilla feet.

Leave a Reply

